Sleep Deprived

13 Jul

I didn’t get home last night until 10:30pm but managed to be asleep by 11pm and happily dreaming when my high anxiety Belgium Shepherd decided to have a minor panic attack. I have no idea why he does this but he starts panting very loudly, whines, and paces on our hard wood floors with his clacky feet. He usually goes for either my husband or myself (he likes to really focus in on his victim) but I guess tonight was my turn. I ignored him for a while in hopes that he would settle down but I finally got up at 2pm, let him out in the yard, and then proceeded to not be able to fall back asleep. So, I sat at the computer and got caught up on some work until around 3:30 and then finally went back to bed. Then the alarm went off at 6am….

The good part was waking up to some oats! After reading a lot of the food blogs out there I have switched over from instant quick oats to steel cut oats. Steel cut oats are less processed and contain more fiber. They also have an entirely different texture. Chewy? Also added some flaxseed.



1/2 cup Steel cut oat
2/3 cup water
handful of blueberries
1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed

I will definitely be stopping at Starbucks on the way to work this morning!

Leave a Reply

