Lentils and Rice in the Slow Cooker

24 Aug

Sometime around 6:30 this morning while I was guzzling espresso roast Starbucks and attempting to resemble some sort of conscious state, I thought about what I should make for dinner. I knew today was going to be a long day with office work and multiple patient visits so I decided to dust off an old friend- the slow cooker.

Inspired by Oh She Glows Lentil Rice Casserole cooked in the oven, I decided to throw some brown rice and organic green lentils in the pot to see what happens.

The result was delicious! Even the hubby liked it!

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice
3/4 cup organic lentils
3 cups low-sodium chicken stock (you can use vegetable stock if you want a vegetarian recipe)
1 chopped medium onion
1/4 Pizza sauce cause that’s what I had. I would recommend a small can of tomato paste and a pinch of thyme and oregano.
Seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic salt)

Dump everything in a slow cooker, cook on low while you are at work! I served it with some broccoli and sprinkled some Parmesan on top of it all.

You’re probably going to see a lot of the slow cooker over the next two weeks. I have a full patient load and a four day conference to attend this weekend! No break in sight but I’m excited to see my MT peeps!

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

