Oatmeal Cookies

25 Aug

I used to make cookies like this all the time when I was on Atkins with LOTS of butter and no flour. This version better fits my current food philosophy.

1 cup organic oats
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
2 heaping tablespoons of ground flaxseed
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg
1 tablespoon EVOO
1 teaspoon vanilla
Organic Blue Agave Sweetener
Honey
Nutmeg, cinnamon
pinch of salt

Combine dry ingredients. Add egg, vanilla, Agave and honey. Mix well Divide into balls on cookie sheet. Bake 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

Feel free to add nuts or dried fruit or whatever! Nom nom!

3 Responses to “Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Roia August 25, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    Those look delicious! I don't know whether it will change your use of agave, but I just read a blog about agave (and being cautious about it) here: http://vegandietitian.blogspot.com/2010/08/agave-nectar.html

    That said, I have to admit that I tried maple syrup flavored agave and it sure smelled and tasted good. It's lucky I'm a lousy baker. Sigh.

  2. Allison O'Mara August 25, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Thanks for the link! I hadn't heard anything negative about agave. I use it very rarely. My current food challenge is weaning myself of artificial sweeteners such as Splenda (which I use way too much of) so I have been trying different options. Definitely sounds like I should continue to use it sparingly.

  3. Wendy August 25, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Those look splendiferious! Thanks for the recipe. 🙂
    I even love grinding oats to make my own oat flour for some recipes!

Leave a Reply

