All Organic Dinner

4 Sep

Last night’s dinner consisted of all organic items with the exception of the pepper which was left over from my pepper extravaganza that occurred earlier this week. I was inspired (again) by a recipe from Oh She Glows. She put her sauce on a bed of brown rice. I decided to use some brown rice pasta that I found at the health food store. It looked interesting!

Pour the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, and chopped veggies in a saucepan. Add seasoning. I used oregano, thyme, rosemary, salt, pepper, garlic salt. Stir it all up, put the lid on, and let it simmer for about 30 to 45 minutes. Adjust seasoning as necessary.

While the sauce was bubblin’ I came up with the idea to make homemade breadsticks with leftover whole wheat pizza dough I had made earlier in the week.

Pour some EVOO, parmesan cheese, herbs on a plate and roll the dough in it.

Put them on a baking pan in the oven for about 10 minutes at 350.

At this point the kitchen was starting to smell delicious so I decided to break out a tasty red to go with dinner. (Thanks Heather!!!)

My plate. This dinner was pretty fabulous, I am not going to lie. There were no leftovers.

Hubby and I took our dinner and wine up to the man attic to watch Scorsese’s The Departed. It was pretty good! Looking forward to a relaxing weekend with hubby and friends and some good weather.

Leave a Reply

