Slow Cooker Pork

5 Sep

Last night’s dinner was pork in the slow cooker. I used a butt roast which thankfully does not come from the rear end area of the pig but actually the upper shoulder. It’s a nice cut full of connective tissue that goes well in the slow cooker. It also happens to be quite inexpensive.

I wanted to make some guacamole for us to munch on while the pork simmered away. I had everything I needed with the exception of some fresh tomatoes. Out to the backyard!

It was a nice evening. We had previously taken a leisurely 2 hour walk around Evanston to enjoy the weather and some Starbucks.

One ear Hobbes?

It is my philosophy that guacamole is best with simple, fresh ingredients. That tends to be my philosophy with food in general. I am not a fan of fussy recipes that require a ton of ingredients and prep. I like food to be rustic and fun!

Guacamole Recipe

2 ripe avocados
2 medium tomatoes
1 medium onion
Juice of 1 lime
salt

Serve it up with some all natural chips with no trans fats or weird preservatives.

Okay, back to the pork. This is so simple. Place your butt or picnic pork roast in the slow cooker on low with a bottle of giardiniera and a little salt and pepper. It’s that easy.

Served with broccoli. I put some green taco sauce on top. Delicious! This was the best pork I have made in a while.

Hubby made his into tacos.


Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

