Pork and Apples

10 Sep

I started in the wee hours this morning by making some cabbage in the slow cooker. I chopped up this adorable head of cabbage that I picked up for about 60 cents, an apple, onion, some apple cider vinegar, EVOO and celery salt, pepper. I let it simmer while I was at work.

Fast forward to about 7PM when hubby came home. He was in a real funk, grumping and muttering under his breath, so I whipped up an appetizer plate STAT. I presented him with some brie and Bosc pear slices.

While he munched and continued to grump, I got busy marinating the chops. Just a little mustard and salt and pepper. Simple.

I boiled some apples to make my own apple sauce!

f

Basically, boil the apples until they are soft then mush ’em up, add cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little bit of Splenda. I topped the pork chops with a big dollop of apple sauce.

I also made some brown rice. My issue with brown rice is that it can be kind of bland. To make it more interesting I threw one of these vegan bouillon cubes in the boiling water.

Hubby’s plate. I realize that dinner this evening is, well, beige but believe me it did not taste beige. It was quite delicious!

It has been a long week and I am so glad that tomorrow is Friday!

Leave a Reply

