Julia Child is Awesome.

12 Sep

I had a lot on my to-do list today. Most of it was work related but one thing I wanted to do was make a really delicious dinner for the hubby and Drew who was planning to come up to Evanston to hang out. I had no idea what to make and was completely stumped when I decided to consult the always fabulous Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child.

I wanted to make something from MTAOFC that I had not attempted before and I finally decided on poulet saute aux herbes de Provence or chicken sauteed with herbs, garlic, egg yolk and butter sauce.

First, you start with a stick (yes, a stick) of butter. Gotta love Julia.

Let the butter get all melted and foamy but not brown and then put in your chicken. I used a variety of pieces, breast, thigh, and leg. Make sure you pat your chicken dry with paper towels first so it browns nicely!

After about 8 minutes, add your herbs (I used thyme) and 3 cloves of garlic.

To go with my poulet I made some simple veggies. Carrot and zucchini batons, pearl onions, and potatoes marinated with a little EVOO, herbs, and salt/pepper.

By the way, here is a really easy way to peel onions. Put them whole in some boiling water for a few minutes. Then take the out and let them cool and they will slide right out of the covering. This saved a lot of time.

After your chicken is done take it out of the pot and keep it warm. Then add some dry white wine to the juice and make a reduction.

Then you make your hollandaise sauce. Whisk two egg yolks into submission, then add little by little the chicken/butter juices to the egg yolk.

Pour the sauce over you chicken and veggies and serve.

Even kitty got a sample.

My plate. So good.

For dessert I made a pear tart. Naked pear!

Nom nom nom

Served with French vanilla ice cream

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

