Random Veggies

15 Sep

So I had a bunch of random veggies hanging around the house this evening. Not enough to really make something with but I didn’t want to waste them. Really, what do with one carrot, one onion, and half an apple left over from this mornings yogurt spinach smoothie?

You make stuffed peppers!

I sauteed the veggies in some EVOO and then added them to 1 cup of brown rice.

I had grand notions of making two separate fillings for the hubby and I. His with sausage and mine with organic green lentils but it has been a long day and a) I forgot to cook the lentils while the rice was cooking and b) I didn’t think eating 1/2 a sausage would kill me.

When everything is done, stuff it all in the pepper. Wrap them up in foil and throw on the grill for 10-15 minutes.

Served with salad.

and….I may or may not have had one of these guys for dessert.

2 Responses to “Random Veggies”

  1. Her Posh Palate... September 16, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Hi there 🙂 You have a blog award waiting for you! It was the lamb steak post that did it for me!!!

  2. Carrie September 16, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    I was JUST thinking about making a stuffed pepper dish…thanks for reminding me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

