Sausage and Kale Soup

17 Sep

There’s nothing like a hearty, warm soup on a chilly fall evening! When I got home from work I got busy making an ol’ favorite: Sausage and Kale soup.

I used Aidells Chicken and Apple sausage which is delicious! They also make a spinach feta version that is fabulous. Other items include a leftover white potato from Julia Child night, a box of organic chicken broth, a particularly happy onion, garlic, and herbs/spices.

Saute up chopped happy onion, garlic, sausage in EVOO. Then add several handfuls of chopped kale.

I forgot to pick up a crusty loaf of artisan bread at the store so I had to make something. I used a package of whole wheat Trader Joe’s pizza dough to make bread sticks which I have done before.

Nom nom! Let that soup simmer!

So, my bread sticks were more like bread blobs. They didn’t really stay in stick form and expanded. Still good!

Soup and bread blob.

I’m going to enjoy my dinner and spend some quality time with the hubby. Haven’t seen him in a while and I want to remind myself what he looks like.

By the way, I am so surprised and flattered that people are reading my blog! How exciting!

2 Responses to “Sausage and Kale Soup”

  1. Adie September 17, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    This looks so yummy! I found your blog through one of your other followers and I love it! It's so cute and the recipes look fantastic! I'm always looking for new ideas 🙂

  2. Allison O'Mara September 17, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Thanks so much Adie! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

