(Super) Spicy Tomatillo Chicken Stew

20 Sep


It has been in many ways a tiring, emotional, and moderately frustrating weekend. For Sunday night dinner I really wanted comfort food. I came across this recipe for Tomatillo Chicken Stew and it looked good so I thought I would try it. To go with it I made a couple of loaves of IKEA lingonberry bread.

De husk the tomatillos and broil them for about 5-7 minutes.

rder=”0″>

Then throw the tomatillos, two jalapeno peppers, 1 clove of garlic, lime juice, salt, dash of sugar in a blender and whip it…..whip it good.

This concoction by itself is pretty tasty and resembles salsa verde. You could probably just make this and use it as a dip or marinade or on enchiladas. Yum.

Anyway, back to the stew. Saute onions, brown the chicken. Then add the green mixture and stock. Bring to boil and let simmer, covered for 20 minutes.

Here are the spices I used.

Loaves!

I enjoyed a bowl with an Octoberfest brew and chunk of bread. This soup was really spicy and I wish I had some sour cream to dollop on top. The seeds in the jalapeno are what give it it’s heat and I only used about 40%. I can’t imagine what this would tasty like if I used the entire two peppers! You could easily make this stew vegetarian by using beans or firm tofu instead of the chicken.

and…I definitely need to clean the punch bowl before its next use.

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

