It’s Time for Pumpkin!

30 Sep

Fall is in full swing and tonight I was craving pumpkin.

Luckily, I came across this recipe for Creamy Pumpkin with Millet over at Hangry Pants. I had to try it!

The key players:

Spices: Cinnamon, coriander, and cumin.

Drain the chickpeas and cover them with the spices.

I knew that the hubby would be a little bummed that no meat was involved in this dinner so I came up with a great idea that included some sweet Italian sausage I had in the fridge.

And some dough I had laying around….

I rolled out the dough and cut out little circles. Saute the sausage, add a medium onion, and a chopped apple for a filling and you have little dumplings!

Roast the spiced chickpeas and bake the dumplings. I put everything in the over together 400 degree for 15 minutes.

Grain of the Evening: Millet

While the millet is cooking, saute onion until it is tender, add the can of pumpkin, and then two big handfuls of spinach. The recipe called for frozen spinach but I used some fresh baby spinach that I had in the fridge.

Nom nom nom

Blend together the pumpkin and spinach mixture, millet, and roast chickpeas.

My plate. This was delicious, a perfect mix of sweet and savory. I am very excited that there is plenty leftover for my lunch tomorrow.

By the way, here is the inside of the dumplings. They were a hit.

Hubby’s plate.

I am going to do a little studying and hit the hay early. Got a lot of people to see tomorrow and a lot of preparation before my Mom arrives this weekend. I have a special dinner planned for her visit, more on that later…

I am also working on a special blog post for sometime next week. Stay tuned! 😉

Leave a Reply

