Roast Leg of Lamb with Mushroom Risotto

3 Oct

I wanted to make something particularly delicious for dinner last night for a couple of reasons. One, my Mom was driving all the way up from Kentucky to help me prepare for the quantitative section of the GRE and two, I figured after a whole day of studying we would need a nice break and a good meal. I decided on:

Roast Leg of Lamb with Garlic and Herbs and Red Wine Reduction
Mushroom Risotto
Green beans
Quartet of cheesecakes and raspberries

The lamb is so easy. Make a paste of 5-6 garlic cloves using a garlic press or a knife, add fresh finely chopped rosemary, EVOO, and salt and pepper and smear it all of the lamb. Place in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 1.5 hours. Your entire house will smell delicious and your stomach will probably start growling loudly, especially if you skipped lunch like I did.

Risotto getting all risotto-y. I used this recipe. I didn’t have sherry so I substituted a little red wine vinegar and a splash of Cabernet.

Yum!

Red wine reduction. To make this, carefully without burning yourself empty all the pan drippings and any bits from the lamb roast pan into a shallow sauce pan. Add beef broth and red wine, bring to a boil, and let it simmer down or reduce until it is a nice sauce consistency. You can pour this over the meat, or the green beans, or whatever. It is delish.

Ta-da!

Mike was in charge of cutting up the roast. Mike is not blurry in real life. I am having issues with this camera. The shutter speed is really slow and a lot of my photos are coming out blurry. Humpf.

My plate.

Mom!

Quartet of cheesecakes that we all shared. I didn’t make these 😦 Busy weekend and something had to give. Our options were chocolate mocha (my fav), apple caramel (Mom’s fav), strawberry swirl, and original. I added some whipped cream and raspberries.

Food comas ensued which required a brief nap on the couch but then it was back to work! My Mom made me take another quiz before bed. It was important I had all my rules straight on exponents, and square roots and all that fun stuff. We covered a lot of material yesterday.

Tonight, the plan is to go out to dinner which will be nice. I think at that point I will need to get out of the house!

Have a great Sunday!

One Response to “Roast Leg of Lamb with Mushroom Risotto”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Barley and Roasted Tomato Risotto « A Girl in Her Kitchen - July 28, 2011

    […] it has a creamy consistency.   I love that you can make it so many different ways.  I know the mushroom risotto that I made for my Mom to accompany a lamb roast was a hit and what about my Firecraker Scallop […]

Leave a Reply

