A Really Long Day

10 Oct

Today was a really long, exhausting day. It started at 5AM and just went downhill from there. I won’t retread the details but let’s just say the highlights included missing an important appointment (which has since been rescheduled) and having a complete sobbing, blubbering breakdown in front of a state trooper. Hey, it’s not one of my shining moments but I did get a speeding ticket significantly reduced.

Anyway, when I finally got home I decided the hubby and I needed a really tasty dinner. I made chicken breast, brown rice, and sauteed organic baby spinach.

Here is a tip to make a really easy gravy. Place the Pyrex that you cooked the meat in right on the stove top. Mix a little bit of water in a few tablespoons of flour to make a paste. Then, whisk this paste gradually into the pan and let it simmer for a few minutes while you whisk it. It takes about 5 minutes and it is definitely worth it.

Cookies were mandatory. I have been on a major pumpkin fix lately so I made pumpkin pecan cookies.

1.5 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
0.5 cup pumpkin puree
1 stick butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
dash cinnamon and nutmeg

Yum!

I’m looking forward to tomorrow being a better day. Planning to head downtown in the morning to cheer on some good friends running the Chicago Marathon and then spend the afternoon with the hubby.

Leave a Reply

