Girl In Her Kitchen hits 1,000!

11 Oct

That’s right!

My little blog that was started just a few months ago has hit 1,000 hits! A few weeks after starting it, I added SiteMeter which is a free service that tracks traffic to your site. This blog is a fun project for me and it I find it sort of amazing that people actually read it.

And, even more awesome, my blog has had hits from all over the world! According to SiteMeter, my blog has gone international and has been viewed by people in:

Moscow City
Calgary, Alberta
Ontario
United Kingdom
Queensland, Australia (g’day mate!)
and Cavite, Phillipines

as well as by people in almost all 50 states (with the exception of a few of the square ones in the middle) even Hawaii!

My 1000 hit celebration meal was simple but tasty. I made a fire roasted tomato cream sauce with some basil from the garden that is still hanging on and I put over farfalle pasta served with salad.

My plate. Yum!

Hubby assisted in making some celebratory chocolate chip cookies.

Touch and you will be smacked!

Mike’s Cookies
adapted from Toll House recipe

2 cups whole wheat flour
2 eggs
1 stick butter
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 light brown sugar
teaspoon of vanilla
1.5 cups of chocolate chips

Thanks to everyone for reading! It has been a lot of fun and I am looking forward to a lot more cooking!

Hugs,

Ally

4 Responses to “Girl In Her Kitchen hits 1,000!”

  1. Karen October 11, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    Terrific–I am sending you some more Herbs de Provence from the Farm garden to celebrate!!!

  2. Allison O'Mara October 11, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Keep it coming! I go through it like crazy!

  3. Amber October 11, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Question: were the chocolate chip cookies what you would call….. soft? Ryan keeps buying packaged tollhouses because they turn out soft and I can't find a homemade recipe that does the same.

  4. Allison O'Mara October 11, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Yeah, these turned out really soft. My strategy with cookies is to take them out of the oven about a minute before the recipe says they are done. They might still look underdone but they keep cooking for a bit on the sheet after you take them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

