Firecracker Scallops with Spinach Risotto

14 Oct

I came across this recipe over at Iowa Girl Eats. She adapted it from the Eating for Life cookbook, I adapted it to fit what I had in the freezer. I was all out of shrimp which rarely happens in this house (they’re so versatile!) but I did have a big bag of bay scallops from Trader Joe’s. I used 2 Buck Chuck (Pinot Grigio) for the wine.

I got to work…Assemble the troops!

Scallops sauteed in EVOO, red pepper flakes, garlic.

When the rice was plumped up, I added the parm, butter, salt and pepper, and the spinach.

Yum!

Serve with a crisp glass of white wine.

I think I am getting sick:( My throat is sore and I feel a little achy. I probably picked up the super bug that has been plaguing my hubby. My plan is to down some tea and honey and get to bed early, I’m hoping to zap this bug. There is way too much to do this weekend!

One Response to “Firecracker Scallops with Spinach Risotto”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Barley and Roasted Tomato Risotto « A Girl in Her Kitchen - July 28, 2011

    […] I made for my Mom to accompany a lamb roast was a hit and what about my Firecraker Scallop with Spinach Risotto?  Yum!  This version trades out the traditional rice for one of my favorite grains, pearl […]

Leave a Reply

