Pizza Night: Polenta crust

6 Nov

It’s pizza night at the O’Mara’s again. After another marathon study day, I finally packed it up for the evening and got started on dinner. The pizza tonight featured a polenta crust.

First, I got started making the polenta. I added some black pepper and dried basil.

As the polenta cooked, I cut up my veggies. Looks like the Italian flag, no?

After the polenta is done pour it into a pan while it is still hot. Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

I sauteed up the veggie and cooked some ground turkey breast.

When the crust is done, add your toppings and cheese and toss back in the oven for another 10 minutes.

Yum! Crispy crust!

Just a little tip, make sure you thoroughly grease the pan! Polenta is sticky!

2 Responses to “Pizza Night: Polenta crust”

  1. K November 6, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    ooh this looks numm-o. I am gluten intolerant and make a crust altered from a friend's recipe. This looks like a nice alternative!

  2. Allison O'Mara November 6, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Awesome! When I was looking for tips online for using polenta as a crust I can across several gluten/vegan sites so it seems like it would be a great alternative.

Leave a Reply

