Chilly November Weekend

14 Nov

We had a meeting on Friday at Chase about refinancing our mortgage. Sometimes I forget that I am a home owning adult and being at a big bank talking to people in suits about mortgage points and having your credit run is always a little scary. But, I am happy to say that instead of chasing us out with the poor broom, they offered us a fabulous interest rate that we are quite happy with and that will save us a few hundred dollars a month! +2 responsible adult points!

After that exciting news, we decided to grab some brunch before we each had to head back to work. I had my psychology GRE early on Saturday to continue preparing for and Mike had some teaching and a ton of composing to do.

We ended up in Wilmette and stopped in at Hotcakes Cafe. Fabulous. In fact, let’s talk about this pumpkin soup for a minute.

It was sweet and savory and insanely delicious and it is my new life mission to figure out how to make this. I foresee many drafts of pumpkin soup in my future. Is it possible to turn orange from eating too much pumpkin?

The spinach/veggie sandwich was also delicious. I could only finish half and brought the other half home.

Afterward, we were walking back to our car when we saw Leonidas, a Belgium chocolate store. We stopped in for a latte. Mike got the dark hot chocolate.

For dinner that night, I made some roast chicken thighs with potatoes and cherry tomatoes and sauteed spinach.

Season chicken thighs with salt, pepper, herbs and brown in a pan in some EVOO.

Put the browned chicken in a Pyrex and chop up your potatoes, tomatoes and onion.

Dump them on top of the chicken and drizzle with EVOO and add a little more salt and pepper.

Put in the oven at 375 for about an hour. Yum!

Sauteed up a little spinach in EVOO and garlic. Enjoy!

I’m not sure what I am going to make for dinner tonight. I’m thinking lamb. Hope you are staying warm this weekend!

Leave a Reply

