Gumbo!

24 Nov

This week has been a whirlwind. I was in Cleveland for the AMTA national conference last week and now I am back in Chicago briefly before heading to Kentucky tomorrow evening for Thanksgiving with my family. The food in Cleveland was pretty good I have to say. I meant to take pictures and blog but the conversation was too good and I didn’t get around to it! We had dinner Friday night at a Cajun place near the hotel called Fat Fish Blue and then I went out to dinner with some dear friends of mine from NIU, the Laveck’s, on Saturday night at Quaker Steak and Lube. It was great to see them!

Did I mention I am in charge of all the cooking for the holiday? Trying to coordinate a Thanksgiving meal with my Mom via email while almost 300 miles away is a little stressful. I am hoping to get my loaf on this week but I will still be working. My first doctoral application is due December 1st (Loyola). The others follow mid December. I cannot wait for this process to be over!

Last night I asked Mike want he wanted and he promptly shouted ‘Gumbo!’. I used this recipe from Epicurious. I followed it for the most part but left out the shrimp and made a much smaller batch.

Made a roux, then sauteed the veggies (red bell pepper, onion) in some white wine.

At the end add the okra!

Served with some brown rice.

And I made some quick corn bread on a whim.

I have a ton to do before going out of town (again) tomorrow and I plan to do get up early for 30 day shred: Day 3. It is killing me!

Leave a Reply

