Eat Pray Love

25 Jan

Eat Pray Love was the first book I purchased on my new Kindle and I wanted to finish reading it before watching the movie which I accomplished just in time for its release at the local Redbox. I can’t say that I think the movie was a good representation of the book (Richard from Texas was not that hostile and annoying) but it was a fun chick flick that was even more enjoyable with some Italian food, good wine, and friends.

For the viewing we met at Andrew’s condo downtown..

Getting hungry..

We got things started with an antipasta plate: goat cheese, roasted red pepper and artichoke tapenade, cantaloupe, and some artisan rosemary and olive oil bread.

Girl in Andrew’s kitchen. Warning: If you let me in your home, I will promptly take over your kitchen and start chopping some Italian cured meats, fresh herbs and produce from the supply in my purse.

Salad, mixed greens with mozzarella, prosciutto, and cucumber.

and..the pizza!

I made the dough with a mixture of white and whole wheat flour and used Giada’s recipe. Toppings include fresh basil, mozzarella and fontina cheese, and prosciutto. This is probably the best pizza I have made yet. I think it was the fontina? Anyway, it was awesome.

Cold and snowy outside, warm inside.

Sigh. I want to go to Italy (or India, or Bali)…

5 Responses to “Eat Pray Love”

  1. megan January 25, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    The Bears shirt and the pizza were the perfect combo! Looks delicious!!!!

  2. Allison O'Mara January 25, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Thanks! We had just watched the Bears game previous to this. Bummed that they won't be in the Superbowl!

  3. Karen January 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Oh-h-h–the views from Andrew's condo are amazing–and the food sounded perfect for a snowy, cold Chicago night!

  4. Anonymous January 27, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    Thanks Allison for a fantastic meal. You made my house feel like a home. All your effort meant a lot to me. Thank you so much. Much love. Drew

  5. Allison O'Mara January 27, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    No problem, Drew! Thanks for having us over. Love you!

Leave a Reply

