How to Survive a Blizzard-Chapter One

2 Feb

News!!!!

I just found out that my blog was featured last Friday on the Women’s Day website as their Snack Smart: Food Blogger Friday feature. I submitted my herb goat cheese dip recipe. So tasty!

Okay, back to the blizzard…

I present to you- Snowed In Chili. Full of veggies, lean ground turkey and general awesomeness, this chili will easily make you forget the ridiculous quantity of snow falling outside..

(dramatization)

You will need:

Ground Turkey
Medium onion, chopped
1 zucchini and 1 summer squash
Frozen chopped spinach
Large can of crushed tomatoes
1 can tomato paste
Spices (I used ancho chili powder, paprika, cayenne pepper)

Saute the onion and veggies and some EVOO, add the meat to brown.

Add the tomatoes…

I added the spices till I liked the taste and then let the chili simmer for about 20 minutes.

Pow! A bowl full of awesome.

The house is shaking from the wind and I can’t see the first step of the front stairs. The city of Evanston has declared a ‘state of emergency’, its first ever in its existence, and the siren is currently going off. Be careful out there everyone and stay warm!


One Response to “How to Survive a Blizzard-Chapter One”

  1. Karen February 2, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Amen Sister!

Leave a Reply

