How to Survive a Blizzard-Chapter Two

3 Feb

I woke up this morning like many people in the Chicago area to a freakishly large amount of snow. An added bonus? Snow drifts that were several feet in height.

I went to let the dogs out and was only able to open the backdoor a few inches. There was a four foot snow drift waiting on the other side.

Okay, so let’s try the front. It was not a whole lot better and these dogs needed to pee. STAT. They kept looking at me like I had something to do with this, as if it was some sort of meteorological dog torture.

I dug a little walkway and threw them out with a ‘good luck’ and ‘let’s make this quick’.

During the afternoon it continued to snow off and on because why not?

Since we were literally snowed in, I worked from home today. Eventually, it stopped and the sun came out. We used this as an opportunity to begin the arduous task of digging ourselves out.

The snow came up to my waist.

Mike is a serious shoveler. I suggested we simply shovel a narrow walkway up to the house. Mike stated that was ‘weak’ and that he was a ‘perfectionist’ at all things involving shovels and formidable winter weather. I entertained this and we got to work.

Hmm…getting the car out might be difficult or even getting into the garage?

Moving a bunch of snow to a pile of a whole lot of snow took some time.

After an afternoon of shoveling, it was time for dinner. This evening I attempted a healthy version of fettuccine Alfredo using no cream or butter. Yes, you read that correctly- healthy fettuccine Alfredo.

You will need:

1 lemon
1/3 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
1 tablespoon of Earth Balance
one cube, vegan bouillon (or any bouillon)
1 spoonful of flour
Grated parmesan cheese
herbs, garlic salt, salt and pepper
Fettuccine noodles

Dissolve the bouillon cube in 3/4 cup of boiling water in a sauce pan, melt butter in the liquid. Add flour to a little water till the flour is dissolved, then add this to the sauce pan.

Pour contents of sauce pan into a mixing bowl (leaving a little liquid in the sauce pan), add herbs, garlic salt, Parmesan cheese. When mixture has cooled a bit, add yogurt. Mix well.

I sauteed some spinach in the remaining sauce pan liquid. Add garlic salt, nutmeg, season to taste.

When noodles are cooked, mix them into the yogurt sauce, serve immediately.

Ridiculous! I highly recommend it. Olive Garden has nothing on this.

I’m planning to get back out into the field tomorrow to see some patients. Wish me luck! And to my colleagues- be careful!

Leave a Reply

