My Superbowl Spread

7 Feb

I have to be honest, part of the allure of Superbowl for me is friends, the commercials, and good food/drink, not so much the actual football game. My plan for this year was to make some tasty bites that wouldn’t completely ruin a week’s work of eating healthy and working out.

Shrimp (3 oz)- 80 calories, 0 carbs, 17 grams protein.

Now, if you purchase one of those convenient shrimp rings from the grocery I want you to do this: take out the little tub in the center of the ring that has some sort of frozen red liquid labeled “cocktail sauce”- throw it away. Why? Because it tastes bad, it is most likely full of sugar and extra calories, and homemade cocktail sauce is supa easy to make. And really, who wants to waste calories on cocktail sauce?

Ally’s Cocktail Sauce

1/2 cup reduced sugar ketchup
1 tablespoon horseradish (or more if you like it hot!)
1 teaspoon lemon juice, preferably from a lemon. I used bottles lime because that’s what I had.
Black pepper

Mix it up well. Chill until ready to serve.

Next up…

Spinach Artichoke Goat Cheese Dip with Veggies and Toasted Sprouted Wheat Ciabatta Bread

Ingredients:

Frozen chopped spinach (about half a bag)
Goat cheese (2 oz)
Fat free Greek yogurt (1 cup)
Grated Parmesan cheese
A jar of artichoke hearts, chopped
Chives
Chicken broth
The mayo in the picture is a lie. I thought I was going to use it but I didn’t need it.

Saute up the frozen spinach in about 1/2 cup of chicken broth till is is thawed and hot.

Mix artichokes, Parmesan, chives, goat cheese, pepper in a bowl.

Add the spinach.

Add the yogurt (about a cup)

Place into a Pyrex and cook in 350 oven for about 10-15 minutes till it gets all bubbly.

Serve with veggies and toasted bread cubes.

And finally…Mike’s Buffalo Chicken Tenders with blue cheese crumbles.

Mike cooked up the tenders in about a half bottle of Frank’s Buffalo wing sauce and a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, plus some pico de gallo.

Serve with blue cheese.

I also served some organic tortilla chips with salsa. You gotta have chips and salsa!

Hope everyone had a great Superbowl weekend!

2 Responses to “My Superbowl Spread”

  1. Karen February 7, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    OK- except for the fact that the Packers won–your Superbowl spread is the bomb!

  2. Anonymous February 8, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Wow, I really under did it when I see this. Looks so yummy and more healthy than what I put out.
    I'm learning though!!

Leave a Reply

