Best Minestrone Soup!

22 Feb

Tonight I made what hubs described as the ‘best minestrone soup ever’.  My husband is quite the soup connoisseur so I took this as high praise…

And let me tell you, a good pot of soup is exactly what I needed tonight.  I woke up at 5:3o,  drove to the south suburbs, made 7 patient visits all over creation, then drove all the way back home to Evanston where I proceeded to answer emails, do some IAMT work that I couldn’t do on my Blackberry while driving, and about 45 minutes of charting.  Also, I am also fairly certain I am coming down with a cold and I’m not feeling so hot.  Boo.

Anyway, back to the soup!

What you will need:

1 lb. of ground beef

1 box of beef broth

1 can stewed tomatoes

1 can tomato paste

1 cup pasta of choice (I used organic brown rice rotini noodles)

1 zucchini, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

carrots (cubed or shredded)

frozen spinach

garlic, finely chopped

thyme

salt and pepper

bay leaf

EVOO

Directions:

Add about a  tablespoon of EVOO to pot.  Brown ground beef, add onion, garlic.  Drain meat.  Add broth, tomatoes, and tomato paste.  Then add veggies and pasta.  Add bay leaf and season.

Bring to a boil then turn down heat to low and let simmer for about 20 minutes.

Don’t forget a loaf of chewy bread.  For the Northsiders, the Jewel-Osco on Howard has the best bakery ever.  They regularly have a great selection of delicious smelling loaves of bread.  Their sprouted wheat is excellent but for  tonight I tried the rustic honey wheat.

Serve and enjoy!

I had a big bowl of this soup and popped some Vitamin C.  Here’s hoping I feel better in the morning!

Leave a Reply

