And the Oscar Goes To…

1 Mar

I have a confession, I love the Oscars.  I love the fashion, the shoes, the pageantry, all the Hollywood people kissing each others butts, it is just great.  For this year’s Oscars I decided to make a fancy dinner for hubs and our friend Kim that would make Wolfgang Puck nod in approval.

The Menu

Salmon fillets wrapped in puff pastry with creamy dill sauce

New potatoes and green beans

Mixed green salad with lemon vinaigrette

The wine choice was difficult.  I really wanted a white wine but I needed something that could stand up to the salmon.  Finally decided on a pinot gris and it was perfect.

First, I got started on the filling for the salmon.  Shiitake mushrooms finely chopped up in the food processor.

Sauteed in white wine with shallots, fresh chives and thyme, salt and pepper.

I cut my salmon fillets into squares to be easily wrapped in pastry.

Sear each side of the salmon in some EVOO in a skillet (but not cooked all the way through) then remove skin.  The skin actually comes off pretty easily after sauteing.  Place on puff pastry that has been thawed and rolled out.  Place mushroom topping on top.

Wrap each fillet up and brush on a egg wash (just a raw egg scrambled that you brush over the pastry with a brush) so they get all golden brown.  Bake for about 25 minutes at 400.

Yum!  Serve with potatoes, green beans (I used this recipe for my side dish)  and a mixed green salad.  The dressing for my organic greens was lemon juice, Dijon mustard, garlic salt, thyme, a dash of Splenda, salt and pepper.

Creamy dill sauce was made from nonfat Greek yogurt, big handful of fresh chopped dill, lemon juice, garlic salt, pepper.

I was very happy that The King’s Speech won best picture.  True Grit and the Social Network were good but I think the best movie won.  Yay!

2 Responses to “And the Oscar Goes To…”

  1. debbie omara March 1, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    I am glad to learn how to remove the pesky skin from salmon – that’s the part of salmon I don’t like! Also, do you improvise these recipes, or do they come from different sources – or maybe just a combo of all your cooking experience?!? I ask b/c they are so professional – and am wondering if you just think of them, or what? I am basically in awe, is the bottom line!

  2. Allison O'Mara March 1, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    The idea for salmon wrapped in pastry kind of came out of nowhere. Then I went online to see if I could find a recipe and I found 2 or 3 that I liked so the final product is a sort of collection of those. For construction, I followed the directions on the Pepperidge Farm website. They called this Salmon Wellington.

    http://www.puffpastry.com/recipedetail.aspx?recipeID=24071

    Thanks for reading Debbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

