Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

2 Mar

I whipped up tonight’s dinner in record time.  It has been a long day and I wasn’t in the mood, nor did I have the energy to spend a ton of time cooking.  I picked up some thin sliced chicken breasts from the market.  I like the thin sliced breasts because they cook up really quickly.

Dredge them in some coating (Italian bread crumbs, herbs de Provence, garlic salt, pepper) then place them in a hot skillet that is coated well in non stick pan spray.  Then I placed them in a 375 degree oven with some marinara sauce on top for about 10 minutes.

Spinach!

I am a huge fan of spinach.  Honestly, I could eat it everyday.  You may be saying ‘but it is sooo gross’ but believe me, if you make it like this it is quite tasty.  I purchased organic spinach.  This was pretty difficult because the organic was literally twice as much as the store brand that happened to be on sale.  I stood in the freezer aisle for several minutes wondering if I was really willing to pay twice the price and then I thought about all the chemicals and pesticides and horrible cancers that I would rather not get.  Spinach is a member of the dirty dozen most contaminated list.  I try to purchase as much organic as possible, at least the items off of this list.

I sauteed a shallot in some EVOO, added about half the bag of spinach, about 1/4 cup of chicken stock, salt, pepper, and nutmeg.  When the spinach was thawed I added about 1 oz. of goat cheese.  Yum!

To go with: spinach fettucine.

What a perfect weeknight dinner!

Hubby has a late night rehearsal tonight so my plan tonight is to relax and watch The Kids are All Right, one of the best pic nominees I missed (because hubby has absolutely no desire to see it).

Good night!

Leave a Reply

