Seafood Paella

5 Mar

Like most great adventures, it begins with bacon…

I cooked up a handful of bacon in a skillet, removed the pieces, then cooked the chicken breasts in the bacon grease.  The chicken was seasoned with smoked paprika, salt and pepper.  I loosely followed this recipe over at Epicurious (minus the mussels and clams).  I used what I had and substituted for what I didn’t.

Remove the chicken after it is browned, then add the onion, garlic, rice (I used Trader Joe’s brown rice) and then the liquid- clam juice and chicken stock.

Bring the rice mixture to a boil then dump it with the chicken into a oven safe dish.  Cover with foil and put in a 450 oven.

After about 35 minutes I placed the shrimp in the mix and placed it back in the oven for about 5-7 minutes.  The recipe says to put the shrimp in at the beginning but I would think that shrimp that has been cooking for 40+ minutes would be way over cooked?  And add the bacon from earlier, too.

This recipe made a huge amount of food so it would be great for a crowd.  It is also very economical.  I only used 2 cups of rice (always cheap) two chicken breasts cut in pieces, and a couple big handfuls of shrimp.  Serve with a mixed green salad.

Leave a Reply

