Happy St. Patrick’s Day from the O’Mara’s!

15 Mar

St. Patrick’s day blessing upon you!  (or Beannachtaí na Féile Pádraig oraibh! in Gaelic).

We did the corned beef and cabbage thing a few days early this year.  We are going out tomorrow night and Mike and I both had a long day today so dumping a bunch of stuff in a crock pot seemed like a good idea!

6:15 AM

I had picked up a package of corned beef from Dominick’s, it came with the little packet of seasoning.  I layered my crock pot with chopped cabbage, chopped apple and potato then placed the meat and seasoning on top.  That way the meat drippings would fall down into the veggies.

Turn the crock pot on low, go to work.

About 12 hours later…I added the carrots when I got home from work.  I didn’t add them in the morning because I didn’t want the carrots to be mushy or for everything to taste like carrot.

Yum!

And just for fun, a pic of Mike and I on the beach in Ireland during our self-drive trip in Summer 2009.  I think this was taken while we were exploring the Ring of Kerry.

Sláinte!

Leave a Reply

