Cornmeal Breaded White Fish with Broccoli and Rice

18 Mar

Yesterday for St. Patrick’s Day, since I had already made corned beef and cabbage, I decided to make a version of one of our other favorite meals inspired by Ireland- fish and chips.  But, instead of chips I made some brown rice.

When we were sofa shopping last month we came across this little blackboard at one of the furniture stores.  I thought it would be so cute to write menu’s on!

Cute!

White Roughy breaded with a mix of cornmeal and Italian bread crumbs served with brown rice and steamed broccoli with some lemon juice.  I also picked up some malt vinegar for hubs.

Wash it down with an Irish beer!

Today when I got home I wanted to make the most of the weather and daylight.  I raked out all the brush, dead grass and plants from my veggie patch and got it all cleaned up to put in an early spring crop.  The dogs mostly supervised.

8 rows, 2 each of Arugula, Spinach, Swiss Chard, and Mesclun salad mix.  Can’t wait to harvest my own greens!  When it gets too hot for these guys, I’ll put several varieties of tomatoes, some cucumber, and squash in this space.  It was so much fun to get back out in the garden and get dirt under my fingernails!

I have a busy weekend ahead working on a conference presentation, preparing for my all day doctoral interview on Monday, seeing a private client, and a laundry list of other things.  Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

