Shrimp and Pasta in White Wine Sauce

15 Apr

So tomorrow I am running the Race to Wrigley 5K.  I registered for this race back in the beginning of January when I was running several days a week.  Since then, things have become even more crazy busy and my workout schedule has been…sporadic.  Here is a tasty recipe that offers some carbs and lean protein alongside some veggies.

I have a long. sordid history with low carb diets and I have started to learn (the hard way) how important carbs are to our functioning.  I once tried to do an endurance race with Joey the Arabian/Saddlebred extraordinaire during the hottest summer Illinois had seen in several years on a day that had a heat index of 105 while on the induction phase of Adkins.

Let me tell you, this was a very, very, very bad idea.  I thought I was going to die, I felt paralyzed, and instead of caring for my horse who had trotted/cantered my butt and all my tack around for several hours in the blazing heat I was having wet towels thrown at me by the race vet and my father in law.   I believe we placed an impressive 4th and 5th in that race which says a lot about Joey who had ironically eaten a bucket of grain, several flakes of hay and apple flavored horse electrolytes that morning and the night before.

Long story short, pass the pasta please!

I started with sauteing some chopped veggies.  I used red pepper, broccoli, zucchini.  Then I added a little white wine (South American Chardonnay) to the pan.

The shrimp had been marinating in lemon juice, garlic, black pepper for a few minutes while the veggies cooked, then I added them to the pan.

Add juice from a lemon, grated parmesan cheese, and some Earth Balance which makes a nice little sauce.

Toss in the pasta.  I used multigrain penne.

Yum! Enjoy a big bowl of this!  Tomorrow, I plan to eat a banana and a Clif bar before the race, and plenty of fluids tonight!

Wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

