Roman Style Pizza on the Grill

7 May

This has been quite a week and both the husband and I have been very busy.  I was so excited when Friday rolled around which means the weekend is finally here (at least for me- hubby has work all day today.  Sad face)

Now, I have never been to Rome but I have both read and seen the movie inspired by Eat Pray Love and the author’s detailed description of the crispy cheesy goodness of Roman pizza gives me an idea of what makes this pizza so unique and delicious 🙂

All serious pizza endeavors start with fresh dough…

Pizza Dough Recipe (roughly):

1 package active dry yeast
1.5 cups hot water
Salt, dash
Sugar, dash
2.5-3 cups of flour, plus more for handling
EVOO

In large bowl stir yeast in with warm water.  Let sit for 5 minutes.  Add salt, sugar, stir.  Gradually stir in flour.  Add more flour and knead the dough for a few minutes.  Roll into a ball place in bowl.  Coat the dough and sides of the bowl with EVOO, cover and let sit in a warm place for an hour until dough doubles in size.

My trick for making a warm place is to turn on the oven to about 200 degree and sit the bowl on the stovetop.  You can also preheat your oven to 150 then turn it off and place the (oven save) bowl and dough inside the oven to rise.

Assemble ingredients…

Boar’s head pancetta, fresh mozzarella, fontinella cheese, Roma tomatoes, artichokes, fresh ground pepper and EVOO drizzled on top.

Here comes the exciting part, I cooked this baby up on the grill.  Preheat the grill to about 475/500.  This only took a couple of minutes with my grill, this guy gets HOT!  Then I placed the pizza on a sheet and on my grills hanging rack.  I thought placing it directly on the grill would burn the underside and I was right.  The pizza was nice and crispy on the bottle after just a few minutes.  Close the cover but keep an eye on it, this project has increase potential to catch on fire or burst into flames.

Mmmmm

Bubbly deliciousness!

Served with a simple salad with an olive oil vinaigrette and pinot noir.  What really made this pizza was the creamy fontinella cheese.   It was gooey with a little tang.  I also thought the crust was perfect off the grill.  A formal request was submitted to hubby for brick oven kit construction in the backyard.

Today is Derby day in Louisville, my hometown!

I am sure lots of mint juleps will be enjoyed.  Remember, real bourbon is from Kentucky.  None of this Tennessee whiskey people!  My recommendation: Maker’s Mark.

I haven’t decided what Kentucky themed dinner to make but I am looking forward to watching the race today and getting a little misty eyed at University of Louisville marching band’s performance of My Old Kentucky Home.  Hope the weather holds up!

Leave a Reply

