Homemade (Kinda Organic) Granola

9 May

My husband has become a fan of these organic granola bars called Fruition by Pro Bar.  While I am happy that he is snacking on organic granola bars full of dried fruit and sweetened with brown rice syrup, they are $2.25 a piece- yikes!

I took this as a challenge to make from scratch something just as tasty and healthy but cheaper!

I picked up this bag of organic oats from a health food store, 2 bucks.

My wet ingredients, maple syrup, organic honey, and a dash of vanilla.  I really wanted to buy the organic, 100% pure maple syrup straight from Canada but the $23 dollar price tag led me to purchase the Log Cabin brand.  At least there is no high fructose corn syrup and there is pure maple syrup in it.

My ingredients:

Organic oats
Maple Syrup
Organic honey
Roasted pumpkin seeds
Dried cranberries
Chopped walnuts
Sliced almonds
Salt, dash

I toasted the oats and pumpkin seeds in the oven while I prepared the wet ingredients.

Whisk together over low heat 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1/4 cup honey, a teaspoon of vanilla.

Pour the wet ingredients over the oat mixture including all the dry ingredients.

Press into a pan lined with foil and place into a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

Now, the granola was delicious but this was the result of trying to cut it into squares.

So, I crumbled it up and placed it in a Ziploc.  It isn’t in bar form but it is very tasty and would be great sprinkled on some Greek yogurt.

I’ll try again to create bars.  Maybe more honey?

3 Responses to “Homemade (Kinda Organic) Granola”

  1. JamieAnne May 9, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I’ve been trying to figure out how to make granola bars too! Maybe if you use one of those brownie pans with the separate compartments?

  2. Jen May 10, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Have you see the copycat recipes for Larabars? I think those mostly use dates as a binder as well as a sweetener.

  3. Allison O'Mara May 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    No I haven’t! I am going to find that recipe and try it! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

