Road Trip

24 May

On Saturday I took a drive down to Kentucky to visit my Mom and Grandmother.  My Mom is providing 24/7 care to my Grandmother and it was my goal this trip to provide a little respite for my Mom.

Of course cooking was a chore I was glad to take off my Mom for a few days.  Her request: just make your favorite recipes.  I took advantage of the grill and some very lovely weather and made a batch of my Greek burgers on Sunday.  I made a burger for each of us and one for Bill the Neighbor, plus one extra.

Greek Turkey Burgers

1.5 lb. ground turkey
Package of crumbled feta cheese
Chopped red onion
McCormick’s grill seasoning
1 package chopped frozen spinach, thawed and well drained
Salt and pepper

Served with some roast potatoes and fruit salad.

Cutting from my Grandmother’s beautiful climbing roses that smell heavenly.  These have already been transferred to my yard and I hope they grow!

For lunch on Monday I made a pizza (of course).  I choose a margarita pizza using some very ripe Campari tomatoes my Mom already had.

Lettuce fresh from my Mom’s garden.  Can I say how jealous I am of their longer growing season?  My lettuce is half this size!

Ta da!  Note: we did not eat this entire pizza.

I had to drive back on Monday late afternoon because I have a ton of things to get done on Tuesday.  I left blue skies in Louisville but the drive home quickly became insane as I traveled north on I-65.  The local radio station informed me I was literally driving through a 3 county wide tornado warning.  Strong winds, heavy rains and a black sky forced me to pull over and chill at a Starbucks for a bit.

A few hours later, the bad weather had passed and there was a beautiful sunset.

Home!

Leave a Reply

