Country Style BBQ Ribs on the Weber Grill

6 Jun

It all started with a little butt rub and really, shouldn’t every Sunday dinner?

It’s summertime which means our grills are up and running and my goal is to not turn on the oven until Fall.  This weekend we decided to bust out the indirect grill.  Originally I wanted to make a pork roast but I didn’t like the selection at the market (and my antibiotic free, free range, no hormone, organic pork was $22 bucks- yikes!) so I grabbed some country style ribs (my first attempt at ribs!) and some chicken leg quarters.  I rubbed the ‘Butt Rub’ that we picked up at the Elegant Farmer in WI all over  the meat and let it sit in the fridge for a bit.

And to top this meat extravaganza I made my ow batch of BBQ sauce.

Ally’s BBQ Sauce

2 cups ketchup
1/3 cup vinegar, I used my tarragon infused white wine vinegar but apple cider would work
1/3 water
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 tsp. yellow mustard
1 tsp. Ancho chili powder
1 tsp Hungarian paprika
dash of cumin
dash of garlic salt
dash of Butt Rub seasoning
salt and pepper

Add all ingredients, simmer for about 30-45 minutes until it thickens stirring occasionally.  Season to taste.

Place seasoned meat on prepared coals.  Close the lid.  Wait and salivate for the next 2 hours turning meat once.

While we waited we munched on some chips and salsa.

Mmmm!

Sides included small baked potatoes, organic spring mix greens with lemon-honey vinaigrette, and fruit salad.

Our friend Xander pointed out that I achieved the illusive and much sought after ‘smoke ring’ on the ribs.  This is apparently the sign of a decent job- and on my first attempt!

Good BBQ.  It’s science.

Of course I shared some bits with the fur kids!

Success!

 

3 Responses to “Country Style BBQ Ribs on the Weber Grill”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shrimp and Brussel Sprouts « A Girl in Her Kitchen - June 6, 2011

    […] Jun After yesterday’s meat extravaganza, tonight’s dinner was light and […]

  2. Grilled Chicken and Easy Fresh Summer Veggie Salad « A Girl in Her Kitchen - June 13, 2011

    […] used more Butt Rub on some chicken legs.   Love this stuff.  You are purchase it […]

  3. Happy Birthday America! « A Girl in Her Kitchen - July 5, 2011

    […] And a fresh batch of Ally’s BBQ sauce. […]

Leave a Reply

