Bruschetta and Grilled Asparagus

8 Jun

Last night we were here sweating through 92 degree temps to watch the White Sox beat the Mariners.

.

Our dinner consisted of tasty bites you can only get at the ball park.  Like a giant soft pretzel. Yum!

The heatwave continued on through today and I spent a very long day driving around in my car with the a/c cranked.  When I got home and started to think about dinner I knew I wanted something that could be cooked outdoors to avoid heating up the kitchen any further and something that utilized  fresh, summery ingredients- preferably the ripe tomatoes on my kitchen counter that were begging to be eaten.

Bruschetta and Grilled Asparagus!

Bruschetta (makes 4):

3 medium ripe tomatoes
1/2- 3/4 cup fresh mozzarella balls, roughly chopped
Handful of fresh basil
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar, reduced
Loaf of bread cut into slices and brushed with EVOO.  I used a French country loaf.
salt and pepper

In a saucepan bring balsamic vinegar to a boil and simmer on low until it reduces by half and becomes a little syrupy.  Roughly chop the tomatoes and mozzarella and place in a bowl, add handful of basil, salt and pepper.  Spoon on top of toasted bread. Add a drizzle of the balsamic reduction.

Luckily, I had some fresh basil in my windowsill garden!

For the asparagus, brush the stalks with EVOO, season with salt and pepper.  Place on the grill for about 10 minutes.  Am I the only one who thinks asparagus is a particularly beautiful veggie? So pretty with the lavender bits!

Mmm grilly goodness!  As you can see, I am still perfecting the art of toasting bread on the grill 😉

Drizzle the reduced balsamic on top of the bruschetta.  Enjoy!

Now I am off to put my feet up and watch some quality reality television 😉

