Yum Sauce (you’ll put it on everything)

3 Jul

I came across a recipe over at Peas and Thank you for a sauce that tastes delicious on just about anything from roasted vegetables to tofu.  It’s a vegan recipe but I changed it up a bit and added cheese.

Ally’s Yum Sauce
adapted from Peas and Thank You

1 tablespoon EVOO
1/3 cup slivered almonds
1/3 water (or more for a less thick sauce)
1 can organic chickpeas
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (or nutritional yeast for vegan version)
2 teaspoons white wine vinegar (or fresh lemon juice)
1 large clove garlic
salt
3/4 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

Combine all ingredients except EVOO in food processor.  While food processor is running, drizzle in EVOO.

This sauce is delicious!  You can use it for a ton of things like salad dressing or smear it on a Fourth of July burger for a kick.  It shares a consistency and taste similar to hummus.  You could also use it as a dip!

This sauce is so good that it made my cat insane (I’m talking opening a can of tuna level of insanity) which is odd because it contains no meat and very little cheese.  I’ve never had a cat chase me around the house for my salad.  Apparently, it crosses carnivore lines in its deliciousness or my cat is just insane.

Enjoy!

