Easy Middle Eastern Pita Pizza

10 Jul

This has been a crazy week!  I have been tying things up at my previous job, gearing up to start my new position, figuring out my schedule and registering for classes (yay!) and getting a ton of stuff done at the house (i.e. home office construction- putting together bookshelves, painting, organizing!).   This weekend was also the performance weekend for my husband’s musical theatre summer camp.  They performed an original musical with score by my very talented hubby.

And they were amazing.  These kids never cease to amaze me. It’s crazy to think they learned this entire show in a month, however, they do have excellent instruction (not that I am biased).  But, I digress, back to food…

I made some very quick and easy pita pizzas with some veggies I had around the house the other night.  I picked up some locally made, whole wheat, ultra thin pita from Village Market (cat optional).

I used eggplant puree as my ‘base’ rather than tomato sauce.

Eggplant Puree

1 large eggplant
2 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon EVOO, plus more for brushing
salt and pepper

Cut the eggplant into cubes (removing skin is optional) brush with EVOO, place on broiler until they are tender (about 10 minutes.  Place roasted eggplant, garlic, salt and pepper into food processor and blend.  While blending drizzle in EVOO.

Not the most attractive thing ever but I promise you it is roasted, garlic goodness.  Spread the puree on your pizza..

..and add toppings.  I used vine ripened tomatoes, goat cheese, fresh basil and Italian parsley from the garden.

Place pizza on grill until cheese is melty (scientific term) and the pizza is warmed through.

Enjoy!

