Homemade Veggie Burgers with Whole Wheat Pasta Salad

11 Jul

On Sunday morning hubby and I took a walk into downtown Evanston to grab some coffee and a bite and while walking past the purple line hubby said ‘hey, do you want to get on and head downtown?’  It sounded like a lot of fun so we hopped on and the next thing we knew, we were at the Field Museum to check out the Horse and Whale exhibits.

Catching a viewing of T-Rex 3D.

We really enjoyed the museum and spending time downtown.  We even ran into our friends Andrew and Jon who joined us at the museum and for a walk up the lakefront afterward. Fun!

After a very long, hot day and clocking almost 7 miles of walking we finally arrived home both starving with our friend Xander planning to join us for dinner as well.  I had some vegetables around the house along with some beef so burgers seemed quick and easy.  I made grass-fed black Angus O’Mara beef burgers for the menfolk and some black bean based veggie burgers for myself.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a nice juicy beef burger, but on a hot summer day meat does not sound appealing to me at all.

I constructed my veggie burgers by placing everything in the food processor.

Homemade Veggie Burgers

adapted from Eat Live Run

1 can black beans
1/2 can sweet corn (drained)
1/3 cup bread crumbs
1 tablespoon ground flax seed
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
salt and pepper

Place all ingredients in food processor, pulse until well blended.  Season to taste then form into patties.  Place on the grill until warmed through.

I completely forgot to add the corn but if I made these again I would use it so I included it in the ingredients.  Instead, I put the corn in my pasta salad.

We had some technical difficulties with the grill that nearly dashed our burger dreams (the technical difficulties being our grill is 4+ years old and falling apart) but eventually the guys got it under control.  Great celebration ensued.

Prep for pasta salad.

Summer Veggie Pasta Salad

2 cups (approx) organic whole wheat pasta
1 green pepper chopped
1 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered
1 can sweet corn (drained)
1/3 cup grated parmesan
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 tablespoon EVOO
dash of garlic salt
salt and pepper

Cook pasta, drain.  In a skillet saute pepper, corn, and tomatoes in EVOO.  Mix veggies with pasta and add cheese, lemon juice, seasoning.  I think it tastes good hot or cold.

My plate, veggie burger on a wheat bun with a little avocado on top with a side of pasta salad.

Beef burgers

My body is well aware that the weekend (and its shenanigans) is over.  Without setting my alarm my eyes popped open at 5:30 like clockwork.  I have a lot on the agenda today!  Time to get to work!

