Sweet Italian Sausage with Peppers and Onions

13 Jul

I found myself with an abundance of green peppers the other day as well as some onions floating around the house so I made one of my husband’s favorite dishes, sausage and peppers.

Ignore the tomato paste, I didn’t actually use it for this recipe.

First, I placed my sausages in a hot skillet with about a tablespoon of EVOO and cooked them until they were brown on both sides.  Remove the sausages and set aside.  Slice up your peppers and onions and saute them in the same skillet.  Season with salt, pepper, dried sweet basil.

Here is my secret, add about 1/3 cup of beer.  I used local favorite Goose Island 312.

Place the sausage on top of the peppers, cover and let simmer for about 15 minutes until the sausages are cooked.

Enjoy!

