Ratatouille!

31 Jul

I’ve made ratatouille before but I wanted to make a version that looked like the ratatouille from one of my favorite Pixar films of the same name.  I got a lot of good tips on how to do this from Smitten Kitchen.  First, I thinly sliced an eggplant, two tomatoes, a zucchini, and a red pepper.  You can use whatever you have around, summer squash, etc..

I don’t have a mandoline so I just sliced the veggies as thinly as possible with my chef’s knife.  To start, I smeared a layer of tomato paste on the bottom of an oval dish and on top of it I added chopped onion, 2 chopped garlic cloves, and a drizzle of EVOO.

Then, layer your veggies around the pan.

Pretty!

I sprinkled herb de Provence on top along with a drizzle of EVOO, covered the dish loosely with foil (I was out of parchment paper) and placed it in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

Ta-da!

And just like Smitten Kitchen I served my ratatouille with a sprinkling of goat cheese.  Delicious!

In other news, I was quoted (and my pics were used) in my favorite culinary magazine- Bon Appetit.  My comments on their recipe for the Cilantro-Scallion bread I made for the Fourth of July were included in their What People Are Cooking column.  I have been a subscriber to BA forever and I am unbelievably honored!  Check it out here.

The rest of my day consists of a walk and light brunch with my hubby and then afternoon birthday celebrations!  Hope you are having a great weekend!

A

One Response to “Ratatouille!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Parmatouille « A Girl in Her Kitchen - August 8, 2011

    […] Ratatouille!   […]

Comments are closed.

