A Foodie’s Birthday

1 Aug

Yesterday afternoon I was treated to a wonderful birthday lunch hosted by my friends Andrew and Michael that featured some amazing food.  Somehow they managed to fantastically arrange courses that included all my favorite types of cuisine- Middle Eastern, Italian, and French (I think a little hubby bird told them)

Here was the menu:

 

Chef Michael working hard in the kitchen.

The first course beautifully laid out.  Hummus, Grilled eggplant, lamb balls, and a refreshing fatoush salad.

So pretty 🙂

First course plate.

Homemade macaroons.  These were melt in your mouth amazing!

 

My friends John and Ryan brought the best sangria I’ve ever had.  I must get this recipe!

Second course was set out- mini pizzas…

…and crispy polenta topped with argula/balsamic reduction.

Drew gets ready to cut the cake!

Cake! Oreo and one had peanut butter in it!  Yum!

I went with a small sliver of the Oreo

 

 

My hubby brought his piano for some music/singalong.

Downloading lyrics.  What did we do without smart phones?

 

Baxter!

Hubby love.

I had a great birthday this year.  It reminded me how fortunate I am to have such wonderful people in my life.  It’s been a big year and I am so excited for what this next year will bring!

Hugs,

ally

