How to Make Your Own Hummus!

5 Aug

Before I get to my basic hummus recipe and the cost savings it will bring you, I must comment on the book I am currently devouring.  Mike picked me up a copy of The Help by Kathryn Stockett for my birthday and since I started reading I cannot put it down.  I am very excited that it has also been made into a movie although movies versions rarely do the books justice.

You can check out the movie trailer here.

Okay, so back to hummus.  I love hummus.  My husband really likes hummus (he’s not quite in the love stage yet).  It is a great vegetarian/vegan source of protein and tasty smeared on a sandwich or by itself with some pita chips and veggies.  My favorite commercial brand in Cedars but at roughly 6 bucks for the larger tub at the grocery my hummus habit can get a little expensive.  But don’t worry, it is so easy and inexpensive to make (in mass quantities) at home!

You will need:

Blend everything together in the food processor (except the garbanzo bean liquid), gradually add the liquid until desired consistency.

Enjoy your hummus on a bed of lettuce with tomatoes and a sprinkling of feta cheese and pine nuts like I did for lunch a few days ago.

 

Basic Hummus Recipe (from the internet)

Ingredients:

  • 1 16 oz can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans ($0.61 a can at Walmart)
  • 1/4 cup liquid from can of chickpeas
  • 3-5 tablespoons lemon juice (depending on taste)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Preparation:

Drain chickpeas and set aside liquid from can. Combine remaining ingredients in blender or food processor. Add 1/4 cup of liquid from chickpeas. Blend for 3-5 minutes on low until thoroughly mixed and smooth.

There are so many great variations out there!  Check out a roasted red pepper version at Pinch My Salt, Lima Bean hummus at A Veggie Venture or Emily’s Basil Hummus over at Daily Garnish- I can’t wait to try this one!

I wonder if anyone has tested chocolate hummus.  Too much?

