Caprese Pasta Salad

15 Aug

Hellooooooooooo? hello….hello…hello… Is anyone there? there…there…there…

It’s been a while since my last post but I have a good excuse.  I was spending a fabulous weekend away with hubby and family up in Door County.  More on that later as I am still sorting through all my pics (I took a lot).  We had a wonderful time enjoying the weather, nature, the lake and all the great things in Door Country including the food so if you are a foodie heading to Door County I have some rec’s for you!  Stay tuned!

When we got home to a fairly empty fridge I wondered what I would make for dinner.  I really didn’t want to go out to the grocery after just getting home and I have a ton of stuff to get done before 6:30AM boot camp and work tomorrow.  No worries!  I went out to the garden to check on it and found plenty of tasty veggies waiting for me to make a great, quick dinner.  No garden?  These are all things that are in abundance right now at your local farmer’s market.

I decided to use some of my heirloom tomatoes and fresh basil with 365 whole grain pasta and a few balls of mozzarella to make a caprese salad.  I also added some baby spinach for extra nutrition.

Cook pasta, drain, add the veggies, season and eat!

Simple, healthy, and quick.

I plan to eat and get to bed early tonight.  I have boot camp tomorrow bright and early.  I think it’s about time for another class since today is the first day since Friday I have been able to move my legs without soreness.  Good times!

Night!

3 Responses to “Caprese Pasta Salad”

  1. Cait August 16, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    oooo 🙂 that looks yummy! You should check out my Giveaway that I’m having to win a Bobbi Brown Eyeshadow compact 🙂 It ends Thursday!

  2. mjskit August 23, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Can’t get much healthier and tastier than this! I’m envious of those beautiful heirloom tomatoes!

  3. Allison O'Mara August 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Thanks! It was quite tasty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

