Weekend Edition: End of Summer Veggie Casserole and Pizza

25 Sep

It’s been a crazy weekend.  Class all day on Saturday followed by studying and more studying but that didn’t keep me from squeezing in a little kitchen time.

I used up some of my end of summer veggies to make an easy casserole.  Goodbye summer squash and zucchini!  I will miss you!

Hubs approves.

The result?  Bubbly cheesy goodness!

Easy Cheesy Casserole

2 medium carrots, chopped
1 red onion, chopped
1 summer squash
1 zucchini
3/4 light mayo (I used olive oil mayo)
1 cup shredded reduced fat cheddar cheese
salt, pepper, paprika, thyme

Saute veggies in skillet, in a bowl mix mayo with shredded cheese.  Add seasoning and veggies.  Place in a casserole and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. Feel free to use whatever veggies you have!

Served with chicken breast.  Place thin sliced chicken breast in pan cover with BBQ sauce of choice (I used Bourbon BBQ sauce from Door County) salt and pepper, bake at 350 until no longer pink.

On Sunday Wisecat said “It’s time to make the pizza.  Do not disobey me”

Toppings: leftover BBQ chicken (sliced), red onion, diced tomatoes, mozzarella cheese on top of my easy pizza dough.

Nom nom nom

Served with mixed green salad, champagne vinaigrette.

As usual the weekend went too quickly and tomorrow it’s back to work. I have a week of tests and papers and more reading ahead of me.  It is winter break yet?

Hope everyone had great weekend!

3 Responses to “Weekend Edition: End of Summer Veggie Casserole and Pizza”

  1. kerrycooks September 27, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    That casserole looks amazing! I never would have thought of using mayo in a casserole. And the pizza looks fab too – I’m making pizza this week so I’ll check out your pizza dough recipe 🙂

  2. runeatplay September 27, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    That pizza looks great! Can’t wait to read more of your blog!

  3. Allison O'Mara September 29, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Thanks ladies!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

