Vive la France! Lemon-Herb Chicken Thighs, Potatoes, Grilled Asparagus, Clafoutis

15 Jul

Hope everyone had a wonderful Bastille Day!

My Mom and Grandmother came up for a quick visit this week while I am in transition.   Currently I am in the process of setting up my office and sorting through several years of paperwork and I needed some motivation/help to keep trucking.  This is not one of my favorite tasks to say the least and I am very good at finding all sorts of ways to get distracted to continue my procrastination.

In honor of my families visit and in celebration on France’s independence day, I created some French inspired grub.

Lemon-Herb Chicken Thighs

Lemon-Herb Marinade

Juice of a lemon
2 tablespoons Herbes de Provence
1 medium shallot, chopped
2 cloves of garlic
salt and pepper

Rub all over the chicken and under skin and let it marinate for several hours in the fridge.

Roast Potatoes

4-5 potatoes (I used while potatoes)
2 tablespoon of EVOO
salt and pepper and a sprinkling of herbes de Provence

Cube potatoes and place in bowl.  Pour in EVOO, seasoning and stir until coated.  Roast in over at 400 until tender.

I cooked the chicken on the charcoal grill and grilled the asparagus on the propane.  Delicious!

We enjoyed this delicious meal outside on a gorgeous day with some chilled white wine.

And for dessert, a most magnificent, amazing French creation: clafoutis!

Clafoutis came to my attention by way of the always inspring Jenna over at Eat Live Run.  I don’t consider myself a baker by any means and desserts are actually my least favorite things to create.  But, I came across this easy recipe (you make it in your blender!) and I had a plethora of cherries so it seemed do-able.

The only real effort with this dish is pitting the cherries…

Sigh, my cuticles are still pink.

Here is the recipe:

From: Eat Live Run

Ingredients:

1 lb cherries, pitted

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup milk

4 T melted butter

1 vanilla bean, scraped (I used regular vanilla extract)

4 eggs

1/2 cup flour

1/4th tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Spray a nine inch square pan with cooking spray and scatter your pitted cherries along the bottom. Place all other ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. Pour batter over cherries and bake for 40 minutes until golden brown. Let cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Pouring my blended ingredients over the cherries…

Ready to go into the oven..

Ta-da!!

Yup.

The other great thing about clafoutis?  It is also delicious for breakfast! 😉

Bon appetit and Vive la France!